Running Anniversary v2.1

Posted on Updated on

On this day two years ago, I started training for my first 5k and obstacle course race.  While it isn’t the day that I started my journey towards a healthier lifestyle, to me it has become the day I reflect on my accomplishments over the past year.

Running was my gateway drug.  

I never knew thin or skinny.  I was always heavy.  I played some sports, but I wasn’t anyone’s version of athletic; dreaded running even.   I was the Amazon girl, followed by Amazon woman.  I didn’t know how to be happy with myself.  I felt different in a bad way.

When I became a mom, I let myself go completely.  I watched a lot of TV, sat on the couch knitting, barely went outside and didn’t like exercise.  You guys… I was über boring.

Sometime in 2008, I think…

001

After the birth of my second son in 2009.
image
I topped the scale at 290 the day after giving birth. I didn’t look 22. My skin was splotchy and broken out all the time. I wasn’t when I looked in the mirror. My self esteem was pretty much non-existent.

In May of 2011, I saw a picture of myself at my mom’s wedding and said ENOUGH!

March2011ONLY

I had such a hard time getting dressed that day because nothing fit. It was the beginning of small changes that eventually brought me to running.

Accomplishments from July 25, 2012 to July 25, 2013:

  • 5k Race Total = 13
  • 5k Personal Record from 36:21 to 31:08
  • Obstacle Course Race Total = 6 (Warrior Dash, Spartan and Tough Mudder)
  • Triathlons = 2
  • Weight Loss Total = 50 pounds (since March of 2011)

After reflecting on my second year of running, I decided that it deserved multiple posts. The list of changes in my life this past year and accomplishments is too much for one post. Look out for v2.2 very soon!

(Finished writing on my phone, so hoping this uploads properly!)

image
May 2014 after the Northeast Suck.

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!