The Daily Grind

Posted on

Someone the other day said they’d like to see what a typical day for me is like. I’ll preface this by saying I DON’T HAVE TYPICAL DAYS. Ha. Basically, when you’re a busy single mom trying to balance a full time job, part time job, two children, gym time and taking care of a household, not to mention all the unexpected things that may arise, your days are ANYTHING but typical.

I can, however, try to tell you what a day for me sort of looks like.

5:00 AM – FIRST ALARM
I suck at waking up.

5:14 AM – SECOND ALARM
I really need to be awake right now.  Throw on workout clothes, already laid out.
Quickly eat eggies and take preworkout (Cellucor C4) if I deem necessary.

Run upstairs, wake the kids.  Harley wobbles down the stairs, and Carter asks me to carry him.
They work on getting dressed (again, clothes laid out already).

Gather my bags which include gym bag (already packed with work clothes, hair dryer, toiletries, gym shoes, headphones, armband, lifting gloves), miscellaneous bag (I put my lunch sack in here, whey protein, creatine, C4, multi-vitamin, blender bottle, workout log) and my purse.
Grab Harley’s lunch (again, made already) and an ice pack.

image
This is what I feel like I pack every day.

5:50 AM – THIRD ALARM
Should be walking out the door at this point.

6:00 AM
Drop boys off at daycare.

6:10 AM
At the gym and beginning lifting.

image

7:00 AM
Doing cardio.

7:40 AM – FOURTH ALARM
Showering.

8:05 AM
Leaving gym.

image
Sometimes, I take extra time to look nice.
image
Most of the time, a Spartan shirt, jeans and my hair up is best I can do.

8:30 AM – FIFTH ALARM
Arrive at work.   Drink protein shake (SFH) with creatine (Optimum Nutrition), eat some kind of fat (i.e. nuts).

10:00 AM – SIXTH ALARM
Water check alarm.

12:00 PM – SIXTH ALARM
Lunch.  Some kind of meat protein, fat and veggies. Multi-vitamin.

2:00 PM – SEVENTH ALARM
Water check alarm.

3:00 PM – EIGHTH ALARM
Protein shake and more fat (coconut oil or nuts?).

image
Protein latte is my favorite.

5:15 PM
Wrap up work.  Lock up and go.

5:45 PM
Pick up boys from daycare.

6:15 PM
Cook dinner (if I haven’t prepped anything for the boys to eat).  The boys take turns helping.  The other plays with Legos.

image
A while back, prepping avocado to freeze.

7:00 PM – NINTH ALARM
Eating my protein (salmon is likely), fat and veggies.  Boys eating dinner.

7:15 PM
Cleaning up dinner, doing dishes.  Again, usually one of the boys likes to help.

7:45 PM
Bed time rituals.

8:00-8:15 PM
Take boys to bed.  Sometimes, we read a story.

8:30 PM-11:00 PM
Mommy time.
This is anything from doing my second job at home, cleaning, meal prepping, reading, social media browsing… Possibly eating a bit more fat and protein.
I also use this time to get clothes out for the morning, pack lunch (if Harley didn’t get to pack it himself), pack bags, etc.  I basically like to have everything ready to go for the morning.

I like to stay busy. How do you prepare for busy days? Do you have more down time?

First time writing a post from my phone. Hope formatting works out alright!

3 thoughts on “The Daily Grind

    Sarah Fandych said:
    November 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    Reading your blog makes me feel like maybe I am not too busy after all. I could do this too! Thanks for the inspiration!

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      November 30, 2013 at 4:15 pm

      I like hearing that! Exactly why I wanted to share my experiences. I know few people who really can’t make time to be fit, healthy and active. Good luck! 🙂

    gothicbeeza said:
    December 4, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Wow suddenly I feel guilty about spending my evenings on the couch with hubby!

    Oh by the way, I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Award, because you are such an inspiration to me! Here’s the link (not sure if it will make it through): http://darkbeautymakeup.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/wordpress-family-award/

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

