Contest Prep Week 9 & 10 Progress

Posted on Updated on

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you may have noticed that I’ve renamed the updates again.  I started with bikini prep, but decided I hope to switch to figure instead (perhaps pushing back my show date if I’m not ready).  Now I’m changing them to read “Progress” in place of “Weigh In.”

I have a couple of reasons for that.

  1. This isn’t just about weight loss.  It’s about muscle growth, definition and strength.
  2. Fuck the scale.

Yeah, that deserved an F-bomb.

My last contest update talked about how I’ve struggled with my emotions.  I mean, I would wake up ready to be the best fitness competitor the world has ever seen, not to mention best mom, and an hour later I’d be ready to give up and crawl under a rock.

Whoa.  Put a quark on your emotional bottle, honey.

I was attempting to stay positive, but the feelings often didn’t stay long.  I dislike being that way.  I haven’t felt that emotional since before I asked for a divorce.

I think I’m learning to create a balance better.  I never claimed to have my mess figured out, but I can tell you I don’t quit.  I find solutions, I push through pain, fear, anger… I FINISH.

Whew.  Now, let’s get on with the progress shot and (stupid) weigh-in.

Here’s your reminder of where I began.  Starting weight of 197.5 pounds.

2014_09_06Day1
Week 1 5.5 pounds lost, bringing me to 192.

Week 2 1.5 pounds lost, and 190.5 pounds.

Week 3 2.5 pounds lost, and 188 pounds.

Week 4 1.5 pounds lost, and 186.5 pounds.

Week 5 1 pound GAIN, and 187.5 pounds.

Week 6 0.5 pound lost, and 187 pounds.

Week 7 4.5 pounds lost, and 182.5 pounds.

Week 8 1 pound lost, and 181.5 pounds.

(Keeping weekly progress in posts for now.)

And on weigh-in morning…

2013_11_15Week10WeighIn

Weeks 9 & 10 Weigh In: 182 pounds

Weight Lost: 0.5 pound GAIN (15.5 pounds total)

No loss and I gained a bit.  Yes, I was a tad pissed.  I’m anxious to weigh less.  I wanted to make it to the 170s!  Why?!

After emailing my trainer, he reviewed my pictures and said he can see that I’m trimming up in upper body and even some in lower.  THANK YOU.  I needed to hear some positive news.

We also discussed how crappy my mindset has been.  He definitely encouraged me to focus on the strength gains “when the scale is kicking my ass” and that he’s around for me during the week if I need to talk.

Yes, I’m stronger.  Every week, I’m able to raise the weight on some things.  For example, one leg workout never uses the same weights as the previous week for all exercises.  I’m always able to increase one or multiple things.  Focus on that.

This isn’t JUST about looking good in a bikini or figure suit.  I want to be strong too.  I want to LOOK strong and fit, of course, but that will come and I’m finally starting to FEEL it on a regular basis.

I’m a very impatient person.  I know that’s one of my limitations. Honestly though, it took me 2.5 years to lose close to 60 pounds.  I think that’s patient!  I know other people who have done it in 6 months.

The problem is I can’t compare my journey to anyone else’s.  This is my story and if I can’t go from still overweight to a figure competitor in 6 months, FINE.  I’ll just take longer to do it, but the point is, I WILL ACCOMPLISH IT.

Lessons Learned & Highlights of the Week:

  • Adjusted cardio.
    My trainer added more steady state cardio and intensified my HIIT sessions.  I now do 1 minute high, 1 minute low rather than 1:2.  Kicks serious ass.
  • Supplements.
    I added a multi-vitamin to my daily regime and creatine.  Creatine also causes weight fluctuation in women which I discussed with my trainer.  I also got a preworkout, Cellucor C4.

    IMG_20131031_115432
    C4 not pictured!
  • Road Trip.
    I went to the Upper Peninsula to visit my boyfriend.  We hiked and lifted heavy things.
IMG_20131108_172828
56 pound sandbag.
mash
Heavy awkward rock and a 60 pound ruck.
    The Suck training is beginning!
    In the past, road trips would have been an excuse to me to stop at places along the way for snacks.  I love snacking and driving.  I was prepared for this trip with all of my meals and protein shakes!
IMG_20131107_154229
Rest stop for protein/apple time!

I have a lot more to say, but this post is WAY overdue and I don’t want to completely lose your attention!

As always, I love to hear from readers.  Let me know your story or just comment to say you came by.  🙂

9 thoughts on “Contest Prep Week 9 & 10 Progress

    Shanda Noelle said:
    November 20, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Are those abs I am starting to see?!? There are some definite changes there! Keep on keeping on. You’re still my favorite motivation and I still love the weekly updates with the commentary. It still makes it more real for me as well as definitely more motivating knowing that there are people who have days just like I do. Its almost a calming relief. You look absolutely AWESOME, though. Keep going!

    Kay said:
    November 20, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    Keep up the great work! I see the difference in your photos and in person! Your legs are looking good!

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      November 21, 2013 at 10:14 am

      I definitely see a huge difference between those photos. I was mostly talking about difference between week 8 to week 10, but I was hurrying and not clear. 🙂 I’m really glad you’re around to help me when I suck!

    Ashleigh said:
    November 20, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    You are amazing! We have very similar issues and started out close to the same weight. You will hit you goal as will I, even if it takes longer than others! Toning and becoming stronger and healthier is just as important if not more than just that damn scale number going down 🙂 Keep kicking ass!!! Hopefully we can meet at XMR in June 2014 🙂 Oh and PS…good choice on supplements…I use Optimum Nutrition too!

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      November 21, 2013 at 10:12 am

      I’m sure we’ll definitely meet up at XMR! I’m planning to do all the weekend’s events. Excited they’ve teamed up with Train Like a Savage!

      You’ve done an amazing job too! Let’s kick ass. 🙂

        Julie Shilton said:
        November 22, 2013 at 12:41 pm

        Addie you are doing amazing!! Keep up the great work, I come and read every blog you write!!

    sansueg said:
    November 27, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Keep up the good work mama! I’m trying to work up the courage to start a journey much like yours. Is there anything you wish you had done before you started? (before pictures, measurement, blood tests, etc?)

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      November 27, 2013 at 11:54 am

      Thanks! You can do it Sandra! I wish I had progress pictures in the very beginning in my underwear. I have them from 215 pounds but not 240. Otherwise, I’ve taken measurements since the beginning and throughout the process. I never thought about taking blood tests or anything. It would be interesting to know if my cholesterol or other things have changed.

      The hardest part is getting started and making habits. Having someone to help with accountability when I began running was huge. I wouldn’t be where I am now without having a running partner then.

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

