Simple Apple Pie Chia Jam

Posted on Updated on

My kids like pb & j sandwiches (no, they don’t eat completely paleo).  I generally buy them organic jam, stick to natural peanut butter with no other ingredients (sometimes they eat almond butter too) and I try to buy organic bread when I can.

A few weeks back, I saw a recipe for a strawberry chia jam and thought that would be a great replacement for their usual jam.

On my trip home from the Upper Peninsula of Michigan last weekend, I stopped at a food coooperative that sold chia seeds by weight and bought some.  I’ve never used chia seeds before and figured this jam would be a nice introduction.

The boys really like raspberry which was the original plan, but I had a lot of apples that needed to be used up.  I searched for a recipe and wasn’t totally thrilled with them.  Some used apple juice and required cooking down the apples in a pot.  No time for that nonsense.

Thus my quick Apple Pie Chia Jam was born.  It’s paleo compliant too! (Recipe follows pictures)

IMAG1464
Apple Pie Chia Jam and Natural Peanut Butter for Harley’s lunch.
IMAG1457
Apples peeled.
IMAG1459
Core removed and chopped.
IMAG1461
Throw them into the Ninja and basically made applesauce.
IMAG1463
I poured the apples into a separate bowl to mix in seeds and spices.  I wasn’t sure I should chop up my chia friends.
IMAG1467
Place in fridge to set and voila!

This is a really forgiving recipe.  Basically you can adjust seasoning to taste.  Use whatever apples you like as well.  Mine were golden delicious and some kind of small fancy apple.

Apple Pie Chia Jam

Yields approximately 24 ounces

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 apples (if small, use higher number)
  • 6-8 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • 3 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1  1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1-3 Tbsp. maple syrup or honey to sweeten (optional)

Directions:

  1. Peel, core and cut apples into pieces that will go through your blender.
  2. Blend apples in mixer until applesauce consistency is reached.
  3. Transfer apples to bowl.
  4. Add seasonings, chia seeds and optional sweetener.  Mix with a rubber spatula.
  5. Transfer to a jar with a lid and place in fridge for at least 30 minutes to set.

That’s it!  So easy.

I used probably only about 1 tbsp. of honey in mine.  It’s completely up to you.  I tasted a little itty bitty bite just to make sure it wasn’t gross.  The consistency is pretty thick too.

I put mine into three 8 oz. jars and placed two in the freezer, one in the fridge.  From what I’ve read, this should freeze well.  If I haven’t come back to update this and you’re reading it a month or two after my post, write a comment and I’ll let you know!

IMAG1466
Apple Pie Chia Jam 
I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

