Contest Prep Week 5 Weigh-In

Posted on Updated on

I have been dreading having to write this post.  The first week that feels like I didn’t get anywhere.

Let’s get the pictures out of the way.

So here’s your reminder of where I begin four weeks ago.  Starting weight of 197.5 pounds.

2014_09_06Day1
Week 1 brought a 5.5 pound weight loss, bringing me to 192.

Week 2 brought 1.5 pounds, and 190.5 pounds.

Week 3 brought 2.5 pounds, and 188 pounds.

Week 4 brought 1.5 pounds, and 186.5 pounds.

(Keeping weekly progress in posts for now.)

And on weigh-in morning… (Decided to start taking pictures in more revealing underwear for progress sake.  Can’t really see something like glute progress in the others.)

2013_10_11Week5WeighIn

Week 5 Weigh In: 187.5 pounds

Weight Lost: 1 pounds GAINED (10 pounds total)

I was very bummed this week with gaining a pound.  I understand that I am building muscle, but I still have plenty of fat to lose.   I’ve also been having constipation problems this week (sorry, not sorry for sharing… it impacts weight and my stomach felt bloated most of the week). Was frustrated and kind of dreaded telling my trainer.  Like he’d think I was cheating.

My fears were amiss though.  He replied to my progress email and said he’s not surprised, given how much I dropped the first few weeks, that I went up a pound.  This week, he expects my weight will be back down.  I hope so!  If it slows or stalls, then we’re going to discuss the first round of changes to my plan, but he’d like to wait one week.

As with every week though, I see changes in my body that just don’t come through in the photos.  New muscle definition that I’ve never had before, clothing fits differently and I’m pretty sure my glutes are getting perkier, more firm.  I just need to keep following the plan, stop worrying about the scale and do what my trainer says.

I was feeling down about it, my weight was up all week.  Texting my boyfriend though, he said this…

“It’s natural.  The same darkness u battled at xmr and u got through it.  But u are strong and u have a strong boyfriend. Together as a team we will conquer your doubts.”

Seriously… find people who help empower you.  Struggling through weeks like this last year, would have been very different for me.

Lessons Learned & Highlights of the Week:

  • Drink more water.
    Self explanatory.  I don’t drink enough water.
  • I FEEL PRETTY AGAIN!
    Wanted to dress up for my boyfriend’s arrival on weigh-in day… BAM!
IMAG1059 2
FYI, I knitted that shawl/scarf. 🙂
IMAG1059
Seriously, I’m kind of gorgeous in this picture.
  • The number on the scale isn’t the everything.
    I know this.  I’ve heard it a million times and even said it, but the reality is, when you’re still overweight, the number holds importance and power over you.   A shrinking number is an indication of progress if you’re trying to lose fat.  Simple as that.  Honestly, when my body fat is lower, I really don’t care what the number is.  Right now, it’s just the biggest indicator of getting lean.

And just a reminder, meal prepping is a huge key to success!  You don’t have to be on a contest prep diet to meal prep.  Make your meals ahead of time and you’ll be less tempted to reach for the fast/junk food options.  Don’t bring snacks into your house and they won’t be there for you to sneak either.

This week, I had all of my meals (including my morning scrambled eggs) in bags and containers ready to go.  I also made mini pancakes for my boys, their dinners for the week and coconut milk.

IMAG1013

One thought on “Contest Prep Week 5 Weigh-In

    kona coffee said:
    March 28, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

