Contest Prep Week 4 Weigh-In

Posted on Updated on

Basically, an uneventful week.

I timed a 5k on Saturday of that week then went to my first bodybuilding competition, as I said in the previous post.  Meal prep went great.  Meals were on.  Gym was awesome.

So here’s your reminder of where I begin four weeks ago.  Starting weight of 197.5 pounds.

2014_09_06Day1
Week 1 brought a 5.5 pound weight loss, bringing me to 192.

Week 2 brought 1.5 pounds, and 190.5 pounds.

Week 3 brought 2.5 pounds, and 188 pounds.

(Do you want this information every week?  It’s going to get long!)

And this morning…

2013_10_04Week4WeighIn copy

Week 4 Weigh In: 186.5 pounds

Weight Lost: 1.5 pounds (11 pounds total)

I don’t want to analyze and nitpick details of my body every week, but I am feeling slimmer and stronger every day, which is the point really.  If I have a significant revelation, I’ll share.

Lessons Learned & Highlights of the Week:

  • Felt “skinny.”
    I was looking in the mirror and thinking, who’s skinny body is this?  Now, I know I’m not SKINNY and I haven’t drastically changed from week 1 to 4, but 11 pounds is a pretty big difference.  It’s that feeling of being flatter, tighter, stronger, smaller than ever before that equates to feeling thin and fit for me, ATHLETIC even.IMAG0951
    I actually don’t want to be “skinny.”  Using that word is an old cultural habit.  This is what comes to mind when I think of skinny.Skinny modelsNo thanks.  That look isn’t for me.   I need to change my thought process to begin with words like “athletic,” “fit,” or “healthy” when I think of how I want to look.

    One of my fitness idols… Annie Thorisdottir.

    Annie Thorisdottir, Europe
    Annie is a crossfitter, but she’s actually an all around athlete. She’s good at everything she’s tried, including time as a gymnast. She was nearly an Olympic pole vaulter but decided it wasn’t what she loved to do.
  • I FEEL PRETTY!
    I’m looking in mirrors far too much.  Seriously.  People have told me I was pretty before I lost weight, that they could see what I couldn’t (especially my boyfriend who tells me EVERY DAY how beautiful I have always been).  All I saw was fat, ugly, sad and miserable.  I didn’t like how I looked or the life I was living and couldn’t see past any of that.Sooooo guess what?  It’s simple.  Do what makes you happy.  Be with people who make you happy.  Cut the bad.  Stop envying what other people SEEM or PRETEND to have.  You can be whoever you want if you make the effort.IMAG0945
  • Ripped my skinny jeans.
    The problem with jeans and bodybuilding is losing stomach fat and gaining muscle in the glutes and upper leg region.  The waist of my only pair of skinny jeans was getting very loose, but the legs seemed to get tighter every time I put them on.  They weren’t a stretchy pair, so when I squatted to pick up a box at work they had no give.  Now I understand why stretchy jeans exist.

    IMAG0932
    Had to go buy some fabulous pink pants at the thrift store next door, because of this epic rip.
4 thoughts on “Contest Prep Week 4 Weigh-In

    Kallai Cunningham said:
    October 8, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Yes, I want to know the long and the short of it. I want to know it all. You really digging into you and analyzing you through your blogging also helps you. So proud of you and I am trying my best to keep up with you! Maybe we can walk the same stage!

    Kalli said:
    October 8, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    You are definitely looking healthy AND athletic (don’t you just love the line that runs down along your belly to showcase your muscles there?!). Very cool. And, to answer your question: Yes! I want an update every week! 🙂 I always like seeing the before pic too, because it’s cool to see how drastic the changes can be even from week to week. Keep up the great work!

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      October 8, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      Yes! I love the line down my belly. I’m so excited to see what it looks like FLAT. Thanks for the support as usual!

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

