Contest Prep Week 3 Weigh-In

Posted on Updated on

Over the past week, I’ve been thinking about my bikini competitor goal.  Watching a lot of pro shows on YouTube, following some competitors, talking to my coach… and I have a new goal.  This goal depends on how much muscle I can gain, how much fat I can lose and how lean I can get.  I want to compete in figure instead of bikini.

After talking to my coach about my goal, he said that basically the event someone competes in chooses them.  I never thought of it that way, and I’m glad he does!  If I get lean enough and build enough muscle, if my body responds that well to training, then I compete in figure.  If I build muscle more slowly, then I’ll compete in bikini.

This past weekend, I went to my first show in person and I understood what my trainer meant!  There were women who probably weren’t ready for competition yet and others who weren’t in the class that best suited their bodies.

I’m renaming my progress reports contest prep until it’s decided which class I’ll be in.

So here’s your reminder of where I begin three weeks ago.  Starting weight of 197.5 pounds.

2014_09_06Day1
Week 1 brought a 5.5 pound weight loss, bringing me to 192.

Week 2 brought 1.5 pounds, and 190.5 pounds.

And this morning…

2014_09_27Week3WeighIn

Week 3 Weigh In: 189 pounds

Weight Lost: 2.5 pounds (9.5 pounds total)

I still mainly see changes in my stomach, which is cool and I’m happy with that.  I’d like to see my arms and thighs losing more soon.  I can definitely feel my muscles getting bigger and more defined in some areas, just need to lower that body fat so it’s more visible.

Lessons Learned & Highlights of the Week:

  • Coffee.
    I started drinking coffee.  Yes, me, former coffee hater.  Some of it sucks and some is great.  I assumed it all sucked after previous bad experiences.  I created a homemade drip system for hot coffee since I’m cheap.  I also learned to cold brew it, which comes in handy for the next bullet point.

coffee

  • Coffee & Protein.
    My paleo protein came (I need to write a post about that) and I thought, Hey, this kind of tastes like creamer, bet it would be good in coffee.  So I Google it and sure enough, it’s a thing people do!  Cold coffee mixed with protein.  AWESOME.
  • Upped my weights.
    Usually, I up the weight on many exercises, but this week it seems I was able to up the weight on most!
  • Missed Wednesday cardio.
    On my plan, Sundays are suppose to be rest days.  The past two weekends, I did yoga and a half marathon on one, and a double 5k on the other.  I just felt super tired Wednesday, woke up late and decided to take it off.  I told my trainer this in the weekly email update.  He said it was okay at this point.  My body is responding to weight loss well, but later it will be important for me to follow the plan exactly.
  • Resisted serious weekend temptations.
    Saturday, there was a family lunch that I brought my own food to.  Apple pie and fresh Amish bread was there.  OHMYGOSH.  These were two of my favorite things when I was fat.  If I made an apple pie at home… I would polish it off in two days… by myself.  No joke,  I make amazing apple pie, people.  And bread has always been a weakness.  The yeasty smell, the squishy inside and light crust on the outside… nom nom nom.  It was also my first taste of not participating in a family meal.  I explained to everyone why I brought my own food, not to insult anyone, but I am on a strict plan.  I was offered some of the salad, because “it doesn’t have anything bad on it.”  I politely declined that while it was a healthy looking salad, it wasn’t on my plan for lunch, but thanks for offering.  Mission accomplished!
2 thoughts on “Contest Prep Week 3 Weigh-In

    Laura said:
    September 30, 2013 at 5:38 pm

    There’s a big difference in your thighs, too! And your face, I think. But it’s weird with different angles. Nice work, Addie! I’m proud of you!

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

