“You’re Doing What?”

Posted on Updated on

The time has come, my friends, to add another crazy thing to my ongoing to do list.  After months of yo-yoing weight loss, dodgy eating and consistent weight training, I’ve decided to do a previously unfathomable thing:  a bikini competition.

This has been on my mind for a while now.  I have a formerly fat online friend who did a bikini competition this summer.  Here she is lookin’ hot.

1014310_549950571730302_653614974_n
(Her name is Kyle and she’s pretty rad, you can find her on FACEBOOK or on IG @kylethegirl or her BLOG)  I also follow a lot of professional competitors on IG and Facebook for fitness inspiration.  I kept thinking, I want to look more like those women.  I love lifting weights, I’m making progress, but I have never had a trainer or a nutrition plan.

Basically, I’ve maintained my weight with some loss and muscle gain for the past 8-9 months but don’t feel like I’ve made as much progress as I want.  This is just not happening fast enough doing it my half-ass way.

I want to feel confidant enough to pose on stage wearing those tiny bikinis and be proud of what I’ve done for my body.  I want to blow Fat Addie away with my willpower and dedication.  I want to be unrecognizable to my former self.

And wow, check out this transformation!

333432_10150939036366918_1889115465_o

“Bikini competition, are you nuts?”

“You’ve lost so much already, why aren’t you happy the way you are?  You look good.”

“How are you going to eat chicken and brown rice for 6 straight months?”

“That isn’t paleo, what are you doing?”

“Isn’t a trainer expensive?”

“Don’t disappear!”

Well, let’s start with how most people have been extremely supportive of this decision.  Many people call me brave or inspirational.  Honestly, I just think I’m a little crazy and fail to think things through before I make the decision to do them… i.e.  First 5k after only 3 weeks of running in years?  YES, PLEASE.  Half marathon off-road terrain obstacle course when your longest run is a FLAT 6 miles?  SURE.  Hilly sprint triathlon when you haven’t swam or rode your bike in over a month?  WHY NOT?!  If that is brave or inspirational to you, then I’m here for you!

Realistically, I don’t think a competition diet is something I’d want to stick with forever. It’s strict and going to be low calories for me since I still have a lot of weight to drop before the competition.  Six months isn’t that much of my life though.  I was pregnant longer than that.  Twice.  I can do this.

No, brown rice isn’t paleo either.  But as I’ve stated before, I allow brown rice in my diet.  I can tolerate brown rice and gluten free oats, so I still eat them in my version of paleo.  My digestion gets pissed when I have gluten and dairy, mainly.  The only problem I’m working on solving for now, is a replacement for whey protein that is mostly paleo friendly.  It’s proving difficult.  Some say they are paleo, but contain corn or soy.   I am looking for something that has 25g of protein per serving with egg proteins, preferably.  If you have recommendations, send me some links so I can research.  (So far THIS is the best option I’ve found but really out of my price range!

The competition that I’m scoping doesn’t have an exact date yet.  It says March of 2014.  I’m hoping they have the date soon so I know how long I have exactly… because I love countdowns.  Otherwise, I’ll find another in Michigan close to that time frame.  I’m just happy to be on a proactive plan.

Information on my trainer will be in tomorrow’s post.  Check back for that.  And I’ll have another post on my Day Zero Weigh In.

Any questions on what the hell I’m doing?  Recommendations on anything competition related?  I’m limited on funds and trying to do this as well and cheap as possible so tips are welcome!

 

8 thoughts on ““You’re Doing What?”

    Kay said:
    September 9, 2013 at 4:48 pm

    I know you can and will do whatever you say you are going to do! You go girl! We will be here to support you.

    Taylor said:
    September 9, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Best of luck to you! I have been following your facebook page (and Kyle’s!) for awhile now and was so excited to hear about your new goal. I, too, am thinking about training for my first competition that is in June and am starting with my trainer tomorrow. I’m interested to hear about your experience with your trainer 🙂 Besides relying on them for the fitness part, I was curious to see what resources you are using for nutrition?

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      September 9, 2013 at 10:31 pm

      I am getting everything from my trainer right now. Tomorrow’s scheduled post will have more info about that. Thanks for stopping by and good luck!

    jesseb2013 said:
    September 9, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    what an inspiration!

      Fit.Fat.Fut. Addie responded:
      September 10, 2013 at 9:10 am

      Thanks for the compliment! Glad you stopped by!

    boxgrl81 said:
    September 10, 2013 at 8:37 am

    Thats a awesome goal! You can do it 🙂

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

