Paleo Beefy “Potato” Veggie Soup

Posted on Updated on

Recently, I made Cauliflower Leek Bacon Soup.  Now that I’m looking at that, I wonder if I spelled leek wrong before… like leaky faucet.

Moving on.

It was good soup, but very minimal and a tad dull to want to eat any of the leftovers (which I ended up freezing instead).  I decided to give it a face lift and modify slightly.  It resulted in what I’m calling Paleo Beefy “Potato” Veggie Soup, revised from the name I previously gave it, Paleo Beef Stew.

So, on to the recipe (which I tried to make very detailed especially since I had no experience with leeks before making the first soup)!  I am also including the total cost to prepare from my shopping receipts and what I think I paid for things.

1
Before integrating the veggies.

Paleo Beefy “Potato” Veggie Soup

  • 2 Heads of Cauliflower ($3)
  • 3 Leeks (1.27)
  • 8 c. Chicken Broth ($4)
  • 4 Bacon Strips ($1)
  • 1.25 # Angus Stew Beef ($5.11)
  • 3 Carrots ($1.29)
  • 2 Parsnips ($0.99)
  • 3 Celery Stalks ($.90)
  • Paprika
  • Salt & Pepper

Total: 17.56 for 10 (1 cup) servings = $1.76/serving
Calories: 151, Carbs: 14 g, Fat: 4 g, Protein: 17 g

1. Cut off the roots and the dark green portion of the leeks.   Cut them down the middle longways, think hot dog bun.  Place cut side down on board and slice all the way down every ¼-½”.  Place in a large bowl with cold water, separating pieces with your fingers.  Let sit until debris fall off.  (Good visual tutorial can be found here.)

2.  While leeks are soaking, wash cauliflower and cut into 1″ pieces (doesn’t have to be pretty, small pieces will cook fast).

3.  Use a slotted spoon to remove leeks and transfer to a large pot along with the cauliflower and broth.  Boil over medium high heat COVERED until cauliflower is tender (20-30 minutes?  I don’t remember).

5. While that boils, pan fry the bacon, not too crispy.  (The other recipe didn’t do this and it was just soggy meat floating around the soup.  Not my preference.)

4.  Cut the other vegetables while waiting.  For the parsnips, use a peeler to remove the skin and slice into cubes (then they look like potatoes!).  Peel the carrots and slice on a diagonal for large oval pieces.  And I like small bits of celery, so I cut mine longways and the chopped less than ¼” wide.

5.  Bacon should be done and resting on a paper towel lined plate in the meantime.  Take the vegetables and cook them in the bacon grease pan or in some coconut oil.  I like to cook them over medium heat with the lid on stirring occasionally until soft, but not broken down.

6. Go back to the large pot and if cauliflower is tender, take your immersion blender and continue mixing until smooth (if you don’t have one, you could use a blender, but it’s hot so be careful!).

7.  Once smooth, dump the prepared veggies into the pot.  Now use the bacon/veggie pan to brown the stew meat.  I seasoned it with some paprika (just tossed some on but if you like measurements, maybe 2-3 tsp.?) and black pepper.  (I pre-cooked the stew meat because I’m paranoid about raw meat.)

8.  Chop the bacon into small bits and add to the pot along with stew meat.  Mix and eat!

_________

2
Didn’t use all of that celery and needed another carrot.
3
Browning the stew meat.

Okay, some notes.  I tried to write this recipe as if you were going to cook it all at one time.  However, I made my base soup (the cauliflower, leeks and broth) the night before we ate this.  Then I put it in a crockpot 4 hours before dinner with the prepared veggies and the stew meat (browned but not cooked through all the way).  I set the crockpot to high and let it go until dinner.

As with all recipes, you could adapt this with maybe ground beef or another meat.  I actually thought about that before I found stew meat on sale.  Use different veggies if you want, be adventurous.

This fed me, Carter and my in-laws with probably 4 servings left over for my lunches this week.  I also made brussel sprouts to try for the first time as a side.   Let me know if you try this and if my recipe reads well.  I haven’t written many recipes, so I’d like to know if the directions are clear. 🙂

5
Bacon Pecan Brussel Sprouts. They look gorgeous.

The brussel sprouts were good.  I don’t know if I would have liked them as much without the pecans and bacon, but that recipe was pretty awesome.  I enjoyed them, not my favorite, but very good and I think they’ll probably grow on me some more.

4
Forgot to take a pic of my plate until I was nearly done!
2 thoughts on “Paleo Beefy “Potato” Veggie Soup

    A Table in the Sun said:
    February 21, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    I agree that cauliflower makes a wonderful base for a soup. I think your soup would hit the spot as we finish up our “winter” weather here in California.

      addiehayes responded:
      February 21, 2013 at 10:28 pm

      I’m glad you found my blog. I hope you will let me know if you make it and if you modify it at all. Would love some feedback. Enjoy the rest of your California “winter,” while I finish mine in Michigan. 🙂

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

