Weekend Milestones (& Food!)

Posted on Updated on

Another weekend of food gone by.  I really wanted to make up for eating so poorly Tuesday and Wednesday last week, so I tried to stay focused.

Friday night, I went to my in-laws and we made individual cauliflower crust pizza.

01
To “rice” the cauiflower, I chopped the head up into small enough pieces to go in my ninja. I did 3 heads. It was a little overkill.
02
Cauliflower Crust Pizza

The flavor was delicious, but I’m not going to share the recipe.  I wasn’t really happy with how many calories were in the crust.  This is a lesson I should learn, calculate the calories before making the recipe.  It had a lot of cheese, so calories were high.  I used Kerrygold grass-fed Dubliner cheese for my pizza, Roma tomatoes, chicken sausage & the Beasty Barbecue Sauce that I made the previous week.  DELICIOUS.  Lucky my calories were low for the rest of the day.

Saturday morning, I hit a milestone.

03
Tried C4 pre-workout. burned over 2000 calories at the gym. I did Spin Class and BodyPump, I was around 16-1700 calories and decided to hop on an elliptical for a bit, then a treadmill to get to 2000!

After I entered my workout into MyFitnessPal, this was my readout.

06
Haha, 2729 MORE calories for the day? MFP is so funny.

I revisited the pancakes I made the other day and did some modifications.  Tried making them “Apple Pie Pancakes.”

04
I added shredded apples, nutmeg and cinnamon.
05
Modified Easy Peasy Pancakes – Apple Pie. I chopped up some strawberries and kiwi to go on top.

Sadly, they tasted nearly the same as before.  I had to use a Golden Delicious since I didn’t have Granny Smith.  I think if I had used a GS, it might have helped with more flavor.  They were good though.

After the days meals and workouts were entered, this is what MFP decided to tell me.

07
That’s like 6 pounds a week. Hilarious. I would be thrilled with 2 pounds a week!

I spent some time hanging out with Carter after Harley went to stay the night at grandma’s.    He took a bath and got a little ornery when I pulled out the camera.

08
His hair is so long now, I can comb it backwards. Hilarious though, it wouldn’t lie down completely on top.

Sunday morning was another milestone.  My first 5 mile run without stopping.  NOT ONCE.  5 straight miles.  Holy crap.  I mean, seriously, if you had seen me run for the first time the end of July, your mind would be blown.  I started by doing the C25K program (with a girlfriend) and could barely run for 3 minutes.  The first time we ran 2 miles straight, we were completely in awe of ourselves.  Now I can run 5 miles!  I guess a lot of people may call it a “jog” because it’s only 5-5.5 mph that I’m running. But for me, that’s the  fastest I can run and be able to go long distances at this time.  I’m totally satisfied with that.  To go from barely running 3 minutes to being able to run 60 minutes, a full hour, it’s a  pretty amazing feeling.  When I start wondering why I even bother running if I’m not at all fast, I try to focus on how far I’ve come from the beginning.

09
An hour of running is that many calories burned? Rock on.

Sunday night, we went to see Les Miserablés at the $2 movie theater.   I was feeling pretty cute and kind of slim.

14
I should really clean my mirror.

Then we went to do some grocery shopping and didn’t get home until 9pm.   Oh boy.  I have been using Sunday nights for meal prep.  I promptly decided that I couldn’t skip it, food is my problem area.

I had plain riced cauliflower left over from the pizza crust on Friday, so I chose a recipe to use that… Cauliflower Rice Paella, which I modified quite a bit.

10
Fresh garlic, shallots, red peppers and diced Roma tomatoes, smelling awesome.
11
Just as I was adding the cauliflower, decided I needed a picture.
12
Cauliflower Rice Paella, I think I added a bit too much cauliflower, but I wanted to get it all used.  Made four 20 ounce Zip-loc containers, so I counted each as a serving which ended up being too much for me to eat.  But it came to 290 calories for the whole container.  The cauliflower had the texture of rice and took on the flavor of everything else.  Amazing.

Verdict on this recipe, YUMMY!  I don’t normally like onions or peppers, however, if they are cooked down enough and chopped small, then I like them.  Modifications to the recipe were no shrimp or peas.  I’m not into seafood, but I’ll be giving it a try again soon.  Also, the verdict is out on whether peas are okay on Paleo.  I keep reading conflicting ideas on the subject.  They are a legume and legumes are not Paleo.  HOWEVER, I read one article that said if it doesn’t have to be cooked to eat then it’s okay.  I’m confused so I just didn’t add them, plus I didn’t have any.  Also, I used shallots in place of red onion and 2 fresh Roma tomatoes instead of canned.

I also made a breakfast dish.  I need something easy to take to work and found a recipe for Apple Streusel Egg Muffins.  I like anything that comes in muffin form.

13
Apple Streusel Egg Muffins.  One muffin  came to only 82 calories and I ended up with 15 muffins instead of 12.

These were questionable when I ate the first one.  They are very egg-y and only have a 1.5 Tbsp. of coconut flour.  Now that I’ve eaten a couple every day, I enjoy them more, but I think I’ll experiment with more flour to give it more muffin consistency than egg.

I only had time to make those 2 things Sunday night, but that held me over until Monday night when I got busy making 2 soups and 2 loaves of banana bread.

The first was Mexican Chicken Lime Soup that I’ve been dying to try for nearly 2 weeks.

17
The soup was suppose to have chicken thighs, but I prefer white meat and used boneless skinless chicken breast. I just boiled it and shredded with two forks.
18
Mexican Chicken Lime Soup. Picture is kind of boring, but the taste was not. Only 141 calories in a serving.

In addition to modifying the chicken, I only used 1 can of chiptole chiles.  Maybe I added too much of the sauce, because it was quite spicy.  I ended up adding 2 Roma Tomatoes blended in my Ninja to add a little more body and tone down the spice.  I don’t normally like cilantro, but I sucked it up and added some.  With the other flavors, it tasted WONDERFUL.

Also, I baked a snack for the week.

19
Paleo Banana Bread that I have previously made. One loaf was for Scott and the other was for me with blueberries and pecans.

I also pre-made dinner for Tuesday night to share with my in-laws.  This was something I knew Scott wouldn’t want to try.

20
Cauliflower Leek Bacon Soup. Only 129 calories a serving.

This was a SUPER simple recipe.  Once I learned how to clean and cut the leeks (first time leeker here), you just chop the vegetables up really small, boil in the chicken broth until tender then use an immersion blender to smooth it out (or regular blender if you don’t have an immersible one).   Microwave the bacon for a minute, cut up and throw in the pot for 30 minutes.  Done.  I added some oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper to the batch to give it a little flavor.  Basically, this tastes like lightly onion-y potato soup.  I would modify the bacon by pan cooking it a bit before putting it in.  Not super crisp, but a little texture would be nice.  Letting it cook in the soup made the bacon soft blobs.

AND finally, I marinated some steaks overnight Sunday.  I got them on sale.  Steaks are strictly for me, Scott doesn’t like them (too tough) and the boys aren’t interested.  So I made up a marinade for my steaks:  garlic, shallot, lime juice, some seasonings and blended in the Ninja, poured on my steaks.

Scott graciously grilled them out on the covered back steps for me.

21
Some people might say these are overcooked, but I like the crispy black parts and I like well done. No chance of my steaks mooing. I don’t even like the smell of pink meat. Seriously. It smells.

I can’t remember the name of the cut, but they were very lean.  Barely any visible fat.  I cut them up (I seriously hate cutting meat, so I like it to be done at once so I can just eat.  This sounds like inner fat girl monologue, but I don’t care.  I hate doing it.).

Oh, and my Valentine’s present came on Monday!  Scott had the lovely idea that I would want a dishwasher for a gift.  I quickly squelched that idea.  I asked Scott if I could just order my gift from my favorite store Road Runner Sports.  He’s getting a pistol that he picked out on his own and I’m got workout stuff that I picked out, so we’re even.

22
Here are a couple of my gifts… new sports bra and gym bag. Some serious sweating after running 6.5-7 mph intervals Tuesday morning.

Side note:  A woman at my gym has the same bag.  I only bought it because it was on sale for under $12.  She told me she’s been a VIP member of Road Runner Sports since 1985!  Longer than I’ve been alive!  She said customer service told her once that she’s one of their oldest members.  How cool is that?

I have to give RRS a little praise right now though.  I’m a VIP member, which is $1.99 for the first year and then it jumps to $30?  I think.  I can’t remember.  But you get FREE SHIPPING on every order with that AND you get a 10% discount all the time AND they often have codes available for an extra 10% off.  So 20% and free shipping on all of my gear?  Plus they have tons of sale items.  I ONLY buy from their sale section.  I hate paying a lot for anything.  The absolute only thing I buy there without a sale is my running shoes.  There is only one brand that I can buy and I have giant feet, so I’m limited there.

Have you tried any new foods lately?  Hit any milestones?  Gotten a sweet Valentine’s gift? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Milestones (& Food!)

    Kay said:
    February 13, 2013 at 12:37 pm

    I just have to say that I so love getting together to try new foods with you! Not only are we all eating better, but the food is so good! It’s nice to have new ideas to build on. You are a real blessing to our family!!! You are an amazing young woman that I am proud to call daughter!

      addiehayes responded:
      February 13, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      I love it too! Tag team meals are fun and it’s nice to have other people to try things with me. I am definitely blessed to have you all! Couldn’t do anything without your support.

    Kimberly Wright said:
    February 15, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    So I know you probably saw it on Facebook. But I want to share my pork chop recipe with you! It was extremely simple, but so delicious. All i did was sprinkle onion powder, garlic powder, sea salt and pepper on the pork chop and pan fried it in olive oil. Instead of condiments to eat it with, I also put salt and pepper on two tomato slices and pan fried those in the same pan. Put them on top and it was AWESOME! 🙂

      addiehayes responded:
      February 15, 2013 at 7:29 pm

      Sounds yummy. I THINK I bought pork chops last weekend on sale… been buying a lot of meat lately, so not totally sure. Might give that a try for next week.

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

