Productive Weekend

Posted on Updated on

This was a pretty productive weekend for me with food and exercise.

Beginning with Friday, I had yoga class in the morning.  Yoga days are somewhat like a rest day.  It’s not rigorous, but it does take strength and concentration.  The class is so relaxing, only the light from the hall comes into the room.  At the end, the instructor covers each of us with a blanket.  The first time this happened, I was like, “Blanket?  What the hell is going on?”  OH MY GOD.  I love the blanket part.  She speaks in a low voice and has you isolate the muscle’s in each limb separately.  By the end, I’m ready for a nap.  Too bad I still work a half day on Fridays.  Have to suck it up and drive in, even though it feels pointless.

Anyway, Friday night for dinner, I made Mustard Lime Chicken, which I had been REALLY anxious to try.  I also made parsnip fries, which I’ve never had before and potato fries for the non-paleo eaters.

01
Ingredients. I need a new slicer. That thing is crap.
02
Squeezing some limes.
03
Before and after blended sauce. I’m so thankful my mom and step-dad bought me a Ninja mixer for Christmas. My blender was awful and the Ninja gets a lof of use.
04
Baked Mustard Lime Chicken & Baked Parsnip Fries!  About 400 calories in this meal.

Dinner turned out delicious.  I LOVED the chicken, it was extremely juicy.  The parsnips were good, but I think they were a little sweet to eat a lot in one sitting.  I was wishing for some sauce to break up the flavor, like BBQ or ketchup.  But sauce is another story.

Saturday morning, I went to BodyPump class then ran on the treadmill.  I burned 1590 calories!   It was awesome.  Then I ran to Kmart for a prescription and a first birthday gift.  Kmart had tons of stuff on clearance and an additional 40% off the clearance price.  WHAT?!  I LOVE SALES!

05
Ignore the quick post-workout wet hair French braid and the awesome Christmas themed shirt. I had to try on this pencil skirt. It’s from the Sofia Vergara line. LOVED it, but I couldn’t justify spending more than $10 on it when I know I would rarely wear it.
06
I did, however, buy a new pair of skinny jeans to replace the ones I ripped last week when my boot got caught on them. It was upsetting. Also, got a pair of flares. Both SIZE 12! And not even the stretchy material!

I should be good on jeans for a few months now, until I, hopefully, lose enough weight to go down another size.  The thighs are a bit tight, but there is plenty of space in the waist, perfect amount really.

Saturday night, I went shopping with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law.  Was feeling lazy and got Pizza Hut.  We did make healthier choices though by choosing thin crust and mine was chicken and diced tomato.  See?  Don’t have to be perfect when switching over to paleo.  Incorporate the good, weed out the bad.  Oh, and I had some birthday cake earlier in the day too.  It happens.

Sunday started with a workout:  cycling and swimming at the gym.  Came home and the kids were getting along better than usually, so I did a bunch of cooking!

First, I prepped a turkey and threw that in the oven, but I’ll share later.  While the turkey was cooking, I made Beasty BBQ Sauce!  I love BBQ sauce. I was a bit sad to cut out Sweet Baby Ray’s, but it comes with high fructose corn syrup and preservatives, so that’s out.

07
Ingredients for Beasty BBQ Sauce!
08
Sauce simmering before putting on the lid.
09
And hear comes the Ninja to smooth it all!
10
Beasty BBQ Sauce made about a quart.  If you can believe this… it has FIVE calories per tablespoon.  That’s it!

Scott and I both approved of the BBQ Sauce.  It was a tad spicy, but good.  And I definitely want to try the sweet option on the recipe by adding a can of pineapple.  I didn’t have any at the time.

Decided to also prep some other food for the week by making Spicy Buffalo Turkey Meatloaf Muffins!

11
I don’t mind touching meat with my hands as much as I used to.

This recipe is actually for ground chicken, but ground turkey was on sale.  Also, I added carrots, because I love them.

12
Buffalo Turkey Meatloaf Muffins! 98 calories per muffin, made 12.

Onto the turkey!  As I said, I put that in the oven first and it cooked while I made sauce and mashed cauliflowers and prepped other food.

13
This turkey recipe is made up. I washed and patted it dry. Stuffed an onion and cut in half into the bird.  Rubbed it with EVOO then some country seasoning and paprika. It cooked about 4.5 hours. I poured a more EVOO on it twice during cooking to keep moist.
14
Finished bird! I cut the breasts off then ripped all of the limbs off with my hands, stripped the meat and threw as much of the carcass as I could into the crockpot with water to make stock.
15
Turkey breast, no skin with Beasty BBQ Sauce and mashed cauliflower. Get ready for this… ONLY 150 calories on this plate! Mind blown.

And a day of cooking cannot be complete without dessert.  I’ve been indulging a little too much in dessert lately, but I’ve been anxiously waiting to make this recipe.  It’s frustrating waiting for bananas to get brown.

16
Flourless Chocolate Cinnamon Banana Cake. YUM! I was wondering if this would work with coconut oil instead of butter (hoping to get some Kerrygold butter soon), but wasn’t daring enough to try in case it wouldn’t work. I wanted it too bad!
17
Hello, lovely!  200 calories of flourless delicious cake!

This got the approval from me and Scott.  I can’t wait to have another piece tonight with strawberries and kiwis on it.

We should have plenty of meat for the week now.  Hoping just to make a few sides of veggies during the week when needed.  I wish every Sunday were so productive.

6 thoughts on “Productive Weekend

    Kay said:
    February 4, 2013 at 3:13 pm

    Amazing!!! You rock Addie! I really need to do more prep work for the week too. I have ripe bananas!!! I think I will have to try that cake.

      addiehayes responded:
      February 4, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      It’s really good! I’m going to try to do this more on Sundays, I hope.

    Laura said:
    February 4, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Addie, you are freaking amazing and such an inspiration. Oh, and guess who joined a gym!? 🙂 I’ve been considering Paleo, and I’d love for you to teach me your ways. Where do you find the recipes?

      addiehayes responded:
      February 4, 2013 at 3:39 pm

      Yeah, for the gym! Are you going in Lake O? Even if you don’t go completely paleo, the concepts are great if you read more and adapt some of them. I just google paleo recipes and look through them. I like paleoparents.com, paleomg.com and some others.

        Laura said:
        February 5, 2013 at 9:44 am

        Yeah, the sportsplex. They have a treadmill, albeit a crappy one, but ellipticals and weights as well.

        addiehayes responded:
        February 5, 2013 at 9:52 am

        I went to the Sportsplex two years ago for a couple months. The treadmill in the main room was pretty nice back then, not now? I go to Hastings now because I need a pool and I enjoy the classes they offer. 🙂

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

