Comfort Zone

Posted on Updated on

If you have checked out my Goal page, you will notice that I have only finished one so far.  The purpose of the goal list is to keep me working toward something and to get me out of my comfort zone to try new things.

I crossed off the first goal when I ran my first 5k on August 18th after 3 weeks of training with my friend, Kathy.  I immediately followed it up with my second 5k the following weekend; setting me on my way to completing ten 5k runs in the next year.

This weekend, I will be able to cross two goals off my list!

Scott and I are leaving first thing Friday morning for Honor, MI.  I will be kayaking (for the first time) down the Platte River, which ends at Sleeping Bear Dunes and Lake Michigan.  How gorgeous will that trip be?!

I made kayaking a goal because I don’t particularly like rivers or lakes.

After kayaking, we’ll be heading over to Copemish to set up camp for the Xtreme Muck Ruck on Saturday morning.  4 miles of running and obstacles:  crawling through mud under barbed wire, scaling a wood slate wall, over 200 foot slide into 6 feet of mud and something called a bug zapper (just to name a few.)

This will be so far out of my comfort zone that I’ll be practically falling off the map.  If you know me even a little, you would know that I dislike dirty things, being dirty and even the smell of mud.  No doubt, I will certainly be covered head to toe in mud… like this guy.

From Xtreme Muck Ruck’s FB page.

Definitely pummeling my comfort, but I can’t wait for the feeling at the end.  That feeling of doing something you never thought possible.  It’s so empowering.

Have you made any goals to push your limits?  Have you already accomplished some?

I’d love to hear from you, dear readers… if you are there. 🙂

I love reading your comments! Leave a reply below!

